10. September 2019

HEADING SOUTH

Heading South on the Dempster Highway!

Tuk was our northernmost destination on this trip. After another overnight stay at the No Name Lake, In Inuvik, we made our way back to Dawson City on 2.9.2019. We left Inuvik under a blue sky and after an hour and a half arrived at the ferry that took us across the Mackenzie River. The two crew members knew us from the outward journey. On the other side, the journey continued to the Peel River. The crew knew us here as well and wished us a good onward journey. We also knew the place to stay on the Rock River. However, the squirrel that carried on our first visit mushrooms into the tree as winter supplies, didn’t show up. The grey clouds hang deep and it was raining.

It was also rainy the next morning. And it was cool as well! We were happy to sit on our heated seats and see the wipers working. After three hours, we reached Eagle Plains, where we had a coffee break. The truck drivers who drive fuel and other things to Inuvik and Tuk did the same. They know this route inside out. But they prefer to drive it in good condition as well!

The Dempster Highway is an All-Weather Road. But when it rains, driving becomes a real challenge. Mahangu looked like he took a mud bath at the end of this day. We also need a shower after a week in the woods! There will be one tomorrow in Dawson City! And Mahangu also gets a rigid wash.

PS: In Dawson City we learned that a truck has strayed off the road. The Dempster Highway now remains closed until Saturday. We were lucky once more!

 (Written on 5.9.2019, on the Dempster Highway, North West Territories)

10. September 2019

KURS SÜDEN

Heading South on the Dempster Highway!

Tuk war unsere nördlichste Destination auf dieser Reise. Nach einer weiteren Übernachtung am No Name Lake (der heisst tatsächlich so!), in Inuvik, machten wir uns am 2.9.2019 auf den Weg zurück nach Dawson City. Wir fuhren bei Sonnenschein los und erreichten nach eineinhalb Stunden die Fähre, die uns über den Mackenzie-River brachte. Die zwei Mann Besatzung kannten uns noch von der Hinreise. Auf der anderen Seite ging die Fahrt weiter zum Peel River. Auch hier kannte uns die Fährenbesatzung und wünschte uns gute Weiterreise. Wir kannten auch den Übernachtungsplatz am Rock River. Das Eichhörnchen, das bei unserem ersten Besuch Pilze als Wintervorrat in den Baum trug, liess sich jedoch nicht blicken. Der Himmel war grau und es regnete.

Grau und regnerisch war es auch am nächsten Morgen. Wir waren froh im warmen Auto zu sitzen und die Scheibenwischer arbeiten zu sehen. Nach drei Stunden erreichten wie Eagle Plains, wo wir eine Kaffeepause einschalteten. Das taten auch die LKW-Fahrer, die Sprit und anderes nach Inuvik und Tuk fahren. Sie kennen diese Strecke in- und auswendig. Doch fahren tun sie diese auch lieber bei schönem Wetter!

Der Dempster-Highway ist eine Allwetter-Strasse. Doch bei Regen wird das Fahren eine echte Herausforderung. Mahangu sah abends so aus, als ob er sich im Schlamm gesuhlt hätte. Auch wir haben nach einer Woche eine Dusche nötig. Die gibt es morgen in Dawson City! Und Mahangu erhält ebenfalls eine Wäsche.

PS: In Dawson City erfuhren wir, dass ein Truck von der Strasse abgekommen ist. Der Dempster Highway bleibt bis Samstag gesperrt. Da haben wir einmal mehr Glück gehabt!

 (Geschrieben am 5.9.2019, auf dem Dempster Highway, North West Territories)