9. December 2019

SECOND TIME IN LAS VEGAS

The Show Must Go On!

When we first came to Las Vegas in the fall of 2007, Brigitta said, «You have to see this city once in your life time! » What she said was because she sensed that I was not particularly keen on this city.

So, there was no reason to visit Las Vegas again. Except that on 10 December 2019 we fly from here for four weeks to Switzerland. We look forward to the Christmas season at home. And to see family and friends. And of course, we are also looking forward to Fondue, Raclette and other delicacies of Swiss cuisine. Not to mention the Christmas cookies that I like so much. And both my sister-in-law and my sisters bake excellent cookies. Ok, I will gain some weight, that’s for sure!

On January 9, 2020, we will be back in Las Vegas. I doubt that I will like this very artificial city more until then. But a few days later we will be in Baja California, Mexico! And then the journey goes on …

PS. Speaking of weight: Brigitta said in reference to my grown belly, that I must be careful not to pay excess baggage on the return flight to Las Vegas!

9. Dezember 2019

LAS VEGAS ZUM ZWEITEN

The Show Must Go On!

Als wir im Herbst 2007 zum ersten Mal nach Las Vegas kamen, meinte Brigitta: «Diese Stadt musst du einmal in deinem Leben sehen!» Das sagte sie wohl, weil sie spürte, dass ich nicht besonders «scharf» auf diese Stadt war.

Es gab also keinen Grund mehr, Las Vegas noch einmal zu besuchen. Ausser dem, dass wir am 10. Dezember 2019 von hier aus für vier Wochen in die Schweiz fliegen. Wir freuen uns auf die Weihnachtszeit zuhause. Und darauf Familie und Freunde zu sehen. Und natürlich auch auf Fondue, Raclette und andere feine Delikatessen. Ganz zu schweigen vom Weihnachtgebäck, das ich fürs Leben gerne habe. Und sowohl meine Schwägerin als auch meine Schwestern backen hervorragende «Weihnachtsgutzi». Darauf freue ich mich RIESIG.

Am 9. Januar 2020 werden wir wieder in Las Vegas landen. Ich bezweifle, dass mir diese künstliche Stadt bis dann besser gefallen wird. Aber bereits zwei Tage später geht die Reise dann weiter nach Mexiko, auf die  Baja California…

PS. Apropos riesig: Brigitta meinte in Anspielung auf meinen gewachsenen Bauchumfang, dass ich aufpassen muss, auf dem Rückflug nach Las Vegas kein Übergewicht zu bezahlen!