24. June 2019

LOVE IS IN THE BEAR

Love is for the Bear!

Meanwhile, readers of this column know that I do not dislike beer. If a brewery is on our way, then a trip to there is the rule and not the exception. Today, however, it’s not about beer, it’s about Bears!

From Weybridge, where we visited the Morgan horse breeding, it was just a bear jump to Shelburne, where teddy bears are born. American teddy bears have been produced here since 1983. Trump’s idea “Make America great again” has its origins here! It was in 1983 when John Sortino, the founder of the company, wanted to buy his son a teddy bear. He noted, however, that they were produced either in Germany or, even worse, in China. So, he sewed his boy a Teddy Bear «made in USA». And with that everything started. Today, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory produces 1’500 teddy bears per day during the pre-Christmas season and ships it all over the world. During this time, four hundred employees work in two shifts.

Jim, a sixty-year-old employee, guided us for half an hour through the production, with parents and their children and he did this with a lot of expertise and humor. Towards the end of the tour, we came to the «hospital», where teddy bears, who have had an accident, are well looked after and then sent to their owners. In a cardboard box with holes, so that the bear has enough air during the voyage!

At the end of the guided tour, we stood in the store, where you can buy teddy bears for all situations: astronaut bears, doctor bears, bears in love and bears as tall as little humans. And Brigitta wanted to take one with her! But where to store it in our car?

PS. To comfort Brigitta we made this selfie, so she never forgets her big bear!

24. Juni 2019

LOVE IS IN THE BEAR

Love is for the Bear!

Leser dieser Kolumne wissen unterdessen, dass ich Bier nicht ungern habe. Liegt eine Brauerei an unserem Wegesrand, dann ist ein Abstecher dorthin die Regel und nicht die Ausnahme. Heute jedoch geht es nicht um Bier, sondern um Bear! Also um Bären.

Von Weybridge, wo wir die Morgan-Pferdezucht besichtigten, war es nur ein Bärensprung nach Shelburne, wo Teddy-Bären zur Welt kommen. Hier werden seit 1983 amerikanische Teddybären hergestellt. Trumps Idee «Make America great again» hat hier ihren Ursprung! Es war im Jahre 1983 als John Sortino, der Gründer der Firma, seinem Sohn einen Teddy-Bär kaufen wollte. Er stellte jedoch fest, dass die entweder in Deutschland, oder, noch schlimmer, in China produziert werden. Also nähte er seinem Jungen einen Teddy Bär «made in USA». Und damit begann alles. Heute werden in der Vermont Teddy Bear Factory in der Vorweihnachts-Zeit pro Tag 1’500 Teddybären hergestellt und in alle Welt versandt. Während dieser Zeit arbeiten vierhundert Angestellte in zwei Schichten.

Jim, ein über sechzig Jahre alter Angestellter, führte uns mit Eltern und ihren Kindern während einer halben Stunde mit viel Fachwissen und Humor durch die Produktion. Gegen das Ende der Führung kamen wir zum «Spital», wo Teddybären, denen etwas zugestossen ist, wieder gesund gepflegt und danach zu ihren Besitzern geschickt werden. In einer Kartonschachtel mit Löchern, damit der Bär auch genug Luft hat!

Am Schluss der Führung standen wir im Laden, wo es Teddybären für alle Lebenslagen zu kaufen gibt: Astronauten-Bären, Arzt-Bären, Verliebt-Sein-Bären und Bären so gross wie kleine Menschen. Und so einen wollte Brigitta mitnehmen! Doch wohin damit?

PS. Zum Trost machten wir dieses Selfie, damit Brigitta ihren grossen Bären nie vergisst!