23. November 2019

PATAGONIA: BIRTHPLACE OF INDIAN FLUTES

Signature Flutes: Top of the Line

It’s been several months since Brigitta bought a Native American Flute in a national park in New Mexico. Since then, she has become an enthusiastic flute player, who has a listener who does not distort the face even when playing false notes. These moments, however, are becoming rarer and Brigitta’s flute playing is getting better and better! (There is nothing more touching than sitting under the stars and listening to flute sounds!)

On 11/18/2019 we reached Patagonia, a small village about eighty kilometers south of Tucson. It was here that Odell Borg, a Native American, started producing high spirits flutes in 1990, which are now world famous: High Spirits Flutes,

We found the small production site without much searching and were greeted warmly by Dany, a co-worker. The next two hours we spent in the showroom, where Brigitta tried one flute after the other. It was difficult for her to choose, because each has her own character and tone: A, B, C, D, E, F or G. When we left Patagonia, we had three more pieces of luggage on board: one of them, a Humming Bird Signature Flute, was my birthday present for Brigitta!

PS. I was not good at both arithmetic and singing and never learned to read notes! But Do-Re-Mi-Fa-Si-Do are a concept to me!

23. November 2019

PATAGONIA: GEBURTSORT DER «INDIAN FLUTE»

Signature Flutes: Top of the Line

Es ist mehrere Monate her seit Brigitta in einem Nationalpark, in New Mexiko, eine Indianer-Flöte kaufte. Seitdem ist sie zu einer begeisterten Flötenspielerin geworden, die einen Zuhörer hat, der auch bei falschen Tönen das Gesicht nicht verzieht. Diese Momente allerdings werden immer seltener und Brigittas Flötenspiel immer besser! (Es gibt kaum etwas Schöneres, als unter dem Sternenhimmel zu sitzen und Flötentöne zu hören!)

Am 18.11.2019 erreichten wir Patagonia, ein kleines Dorf, das runde achtzig Kilometer südlich von Tucson liegt. Hier begann Odell Borg, ein Native American, 1990 mit der Produktion seiner High Spirits Flutes, die heute Weltruf geniessen: High Spirits Flutes

Wir fanden die kleine Produktionsstätte ohne langes Suchen und wurden von Dany, einem Mitarbeiter, freundlich empfangen. Die nächsten zwei Stunden verbrachten wir im Ausstellungsraum, wo Brigitta eine Flöte nach der anderen ausprobierte. Die Wahl fiel ihr schwer, denn jede hat ihren eigenen Charakter und Ton: A, B, C, D, E, F oder G. Als wir Patagonia verliessen, hatten wir drei Gepäckstücke mehr an Bord: Eines davon, eine Kolibri Signatur Flöte, war mein Geburtstagsgeschenk für Brigitta!

PS. Ich war nicht nur im Rechnen, sondern auch im Singen eine Flasche und lernte nie Noten lesen! Aber Do-Re-Mi-Fa-Si-Do sind mir doch ein Begriff!