17. October 2019

THE LONLIEST HIGHWAY

A Highway with Cult Status

The route on Interstate 80 would have taken us from Oregon directly to Utah and Salt Lake City. But not always the shortest way is the most beautiful. At Battle Mountain we turned south. Once more, we marveled at the vastness and how few people we saw. The night we spent in a rest area, which we shared with two truck drivers.

The next morning beautiful weather. But bitterly cold. This was also shown by the thermometer and the water bag that I left hanging outside – it was frozen rock hard! While Brigitta was preparing breakfast, I did my morning exercise. You have to do something for fitness! Soon there was a smell of hot coffee from inside Mahangu. A taste that attracts me irresistibly. Is there anything better than drinking a hot coffee on a cold morning? Yes, to continue the journey!

Half an hour later we reached Austin, a wild west village with 350 inhabitants. Here we came across the Highway 50, which starts in California, on the Pacific, and ends in Maryland, on the east coast. The Nevada section was named The Loneliest Road Americas by LIFE magazine in 1986 and has cult status like Route 66. Nomen est Omen: In the next few hours, we hardly saw any people, and even fewer vehicles.

PS. Near Austin, Anson Phelpes Stokes, a mine and bank magnate, built a three-story tower in 1896. He was inspired by a tower near Rome! So there are not only whimsical Englishmen!

(Written in Salt Lake City, Utah)

17. Oktober 2019

«THE LONLIEST HIGHWAY»

A Highway with Cult Status

Die Strecke auf der Interstate 80 hätte uns von Oregon direkt nach Utah und Salt Lake City geführt. Doch nicht immer ist der kürzeste Weg der schönste. In Battle Mountain bogen wir in den Süden ab. Einmal mehr staunten wir über die Weite und darüber, wie wenig Menschen wir zu Gesicht bekamen. Die Nacht verbrachten wir auf einem Parkplatz, den wir mit zwei Truckfahrern teilten.

Am nächsten Morgen wunderschönes Wetter. Doch bitterkalt. Das bewies auch der Wassersack, den ich draussen hängen liess – er war steinhart gefroren! (Damit war das Thema Waschen auch erledigt!) Während Brigitta das Frühstück zubereitete, machte ich auf dem Parkplatz meine morgendlichen Gymnastik-Übungen – man muss ja etwas für die Fitness tun! Bald roch es nach Kaffee. Gibt es etwas Schöneres, als an einem kalten Morgen einen heissen Kaffee zu trinken? Ja, sich danach auf die Weiterreise zu machen!

Eine halbe Stunde später erreichten wir Austin, ein Wildwest-Dorf mit 350 Einwohnern. Hier stiessen wir auf den Highway 50, der in Kalifornien, am Pazifik, beginnt und in Maryland, an der Ostküste, endet. Der Abschnitt, der durch Nevada führt, wurde 1986 vom LIFE-Magazin zur Loneliest Road Amerikas gekürt und hat, wie die Route 66, Kult-Status. Nomen est Omen: In den nächsten Stunden begegneten uns kaum Fahrzeuge.

PS: In der Nähe von Austin hat Anson Phelpes Stokes, Minen-, Eisenbahn- und Bank-Magnat, 1896 einen dreistöckigen Turm bauen lassen. Inspiriert wurde er von einem Turm in der Nähe von Rom! Es gibt also nicht nur spleenige Engländer!

(Geschrieben in Salt Lake City, Utah)