3. October 2019

SNOW? YES, SNOW!

Winter in September!

On 27.9.2019 we said goodbye to the farm in Kettle Valley. As River, the faithful dog who took us for a walk every day, looked at us, it was just sad as we were. We spent here an unforgettable week. A few days more and I would have sat on the back of Big Jim. The horse was so good-natured that you could even ride on it without a saddle.

At Midway we met a friendly and courteous US Customs officer as we have never have experienced before. He didn’t even charge us the US $ 6.–, which we would have to pay for the visas and said: «The system isn’t working reliable», stamped our passports and wished us a good trip!

Shortly after we turned off on Highway 20, which meanders through northern Washington along the border in the direction to the Pacific. In constant ups and downs it went past farm buildings, where US flags were blowing in the wind. Towards evening, the road climbed into the mountains. When we reached 1’200 meters, I said to Brigitta: «That’s enough; we better stay here and don’t drive further».

When we got up the next morning, it was cold. (In the meantime, we got used to it that our Webasto heating system isn’t working!) When I looked out the window, I saw white all around! Snow!

PS. The last time we saw snow was in Utah; three and a half months ago. Somehow this year we missed the summer!

(Written on a rest stop near Astoria, Oregon)

3. Oktober 2019

SCHNEE? JA, SCHNEE!

Winter in September!

Am 27.9.2019 verabschiedeten wir uns auf der Farm im Kettle Valley. So wie uns River anschaute, der treue Hund, der uns jeden Tag auf einen Spaziergang mit-nahm, war er ebenso traurig wie wir. Wir haben hier eine unvergesslich schöne Woche verbracht. Noch ein paar Tage mehr und ich hätte mich auf den Rücken von Big Jim gesetzt. Das Pferd war so gutmütig, dass man sogar ohne Sattel auf ihm reiten konnte.

Den Zoll in Midway hatten wir im Nu hinter uns. Einen so freundlichen und zuvorkommenden US-Zollbeamten wie hier, haben wir noch nie erlebt. Er erliess uns sogar die US$ 6.–, die wir hätten bezahlen müssen und meinte: «The system isn’t working reliable». Er stempelte unsere Pässe und wünschte uns gute Fahrt. Das war’s!

Kurz nach dem Zoll bogen wir auf den Highway 20 ab, der durch Washington und entlang der Grenze in Richtung Pazifik führt. In stetem Auf und Ab ging es vorbei an Farmhäusern, an denen US-Flaggen im Wind wehten. Gegen Abend stieg die Strasse in die Höhe. Als wir auf 1’200 Metern Höhe ankamen, sagte ich zu Brigitta: «Das reicht; wir übernachten besser hier und fahren nicht noch höher».

Als wir am nächsten Morgen aufstanden, war es kalt. (Daran, dass die Webasto Standheizung nicht funktioniert haben wir uns unterdessen gewöhnt!) Als ich zum Fenster hinausschaute, sah ich ringsum weiss! Schnee!

PS: Den letzten Schnee haben wir vor dreieinhalb Monaten in Utah gesehen. Irgendwie sind wir dieses Jahr am Sommer vorbeigefahren!

 (Geschrieben auf einem Rastplatz bei Astoria, Oregon)