8. November 2019

SEDONA: CENTER OF THE NEW AGE

For the one's believing...

Just fifty kilometers south of Flagstaff lies Sedona. The town is surrounded by red rocks and known for the nearby Slide Rock State Park. But Sedona is best known because it is considered the US center for people who are committed to the New Age.

New Ager are people who are in search for alternatives of religion, psyche and enlightenment. And they hope of finding everything in Sedona. New Ager want to change themselves and so the world. And all that can be achieved in Sedona: massages, nutritional advice and yoga. (I prefer the yoga exercise «Chicken a la Satay»!) But there are also other unusual services offered. For example, crystal healing, return your soul to early life (!) and such humbug more. There are massages that get along without any contact and cure drinking addiction. Impressive! We were looking forward to Sedona! Whether we are enlightened here. (The batteries of my headlamp are weak anyway – that would be the right moment!)

At 11/7/2019 we reached the town, after we had spent a week at Flagstaff in an Airbnb. The enlightenment has not happened until now. But the town actually radiates a special atmosphere. But that may also be due to our presence …

PS. Everything humbug? The Owner of the Airbnb in Flagstaff has told us that a good friend of him with a few entrepreneurs had the New Age idea and therefore ​​making Sedona to what it is today. A money machine for some locals.

8. November 2019

SEDONA: NEW AGE ZENTRUM

For the one's believing...

Knappe fünfzig Kilometer südlich von Flagstaff liegt Sedona. Das Städtchen ist umrundet von roten Felsen und bekannt für den Slide Rock State Park, der in der Nähe liegt. Doch am Bekanntesten ist Sedona, weil es als das US-Zentrum für Zeitgenossen gilt, die sich dem New Age zugehörig fühlen.

New Ager sind Leute, die alternative Erklärungen im Bereich Gesundheit, Religion, Psyche und Erleuchtung suchen. Und die hoffen, all dies in Sedona zu finden. New Ager wollen sich und damit die Welt positiv verändern. Und alles, was dazu verhelfen kann, wird in Sedona angeboten: Massagen, Ernährungsberatung und Yoga. (Am liebsten habe ich die Yoga-Übung «Poulet im Chörbli»!) Es werden jedoch auch noch weitere ausgefallene Dienstleistungen angeboten. Zum Beispiel Kristallheilung, Rückführung ins frühere Leben (!) und derlei Humbug mehr. Und es soll Massagen geben, die ohne Berührung auskommen und Trinksucht heilen. Wow! Wir waren gespannt auf Sedona! Ob wir hier erleuchtet werden. (Die Batterien meiner Stirnlampe sind eh schwach – das wäre der richtige Moment!)

Am 7.11.2019 erreichten wir das Städtchen, nachdem wir in Flagstaff eine Woche in einem Airbnbn verbracht hatten. Die Erleuchtung ist bis jetzt ausgeblieben. Aber das Städtchen strahlt tatsächlich eine besondere Atmosphäre aus. Aber das mag auch an unserer Gegenwart liegen…

PS: Alles Humbug? Der Besitzer des Airbnb in Flagstaff hat uns erzählt, dass ein guter Freund mit ein paar Unternehmern die New Age Idee gebaren, um Sedona zu dem zu machen, was es heute ist. Eine Geldmaschine für einige Einheimische.