13. October 2019

PONY EXPRESS: POST FOR THE SETTLERS

Settlers seeking a better Life in the West

Time and again, since we’ve been touring Oregon and the States, we’ve come across markers that point to one of the many trails that crisscrossed the country during the period of settlement: The Santa Fe, Oregon, California, and Mormon Trail. In the mid-nineteenth century, settlers traveled on these trails with their wives and children on wagons through the vast expanses of the Americas. Many who did not find work at home or who had lost everything as a result of the economic crisis of 1857 set out to the west. (The term “Go West, Young Men, Go West” also dates from this period.)

The settlers sought a better life on fertile ground. The Mormons fled the persecution into the Great Salt Lake area, where they founded Salt Lake City. The gold digger were infected by the gold fever when gold was discovered in California in 1848. The one of them became rich; others came back poorer when they left. Or not at all.

And then there was the Pony Express! So called though the riders rode on fast horses. On them they transported 10 kilograms of mail in two leather bags and 25 kilograms of equipment. (The riders could not weigh more than 60 kilograms!) The horses were changed every ten to fifteen miles at relay stations, where the exhausted horse was replaced by a fresh one. After a few changes of the horse then the rider was replaced. And on, the wild ride continued along the trail that ran over 2,000 miles from St. Joseph, Missouri, to San Francisco, California.

PS. The Pony Express existed only for 19 months. From October 1861, the transcontinental telegraph line took over the communication. And from 1869, when the railway line was completed across the country, the railroad took over the transport of settlers and post.

13. Oktober 2019

PONY-EXPRESS: POST FÜR DIE SIEDLER

Settlers seeking a better Life in the West

Seit wir durch Oregon und andere Bundesstaaten reisen, treffen wir immer wieder auf Marker, die auf einen der Trails hinweisen, die das Land während der Zeit der Besiedlung durchzogen: Santa Fe-, California-, Mormonen- oder Oregon-Trail. Über diese Trails zogen die Siedler Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts mit Frau und Kind auf Planwagen über die Prärie. Viele, die zuhause keine Arbeit fanden oder durch die Wirtschaftskrise 1857 alles verloren hatten, machten sich auf gen Westen. (Aus dieser Zeit stammt auch der Ausdruck «Go West, young Men, go West».)

Die Siedler suchten ein besseres Leben. Mormonen flohen vor der Verfolgung in die Gegend des Grossen Salzsees, wo sie Salt Lake City gründeten. Glücksritter wurden vom Goldfieber angesteckt, als 1848 in Kalifornien Gold entdeckt wurde. Einige von ihnen wurden reich; andere kamen ärmer zurück als sie losgezogen waren. Oder überhaupt nicht.

Alle jedoch waren auf den Pony Express angewiesen. So genannt obwohl die Reiter auf schnellen Pferden ritten. Auf ihnen transportieren sie 10 Kilogramm Post in zwei Ledertaschen und 25 Kilogramm Ausrüstung. (Die Reiter durften nicht über 60 Kilogramm wiegen!) Die Pferde wechselten die verwegenen Reiter alle zehn bis fünfzehn Meilen auf Relais-Stationen, wo das erschöpfte Pferd durch ein frisches ausgewechselt wurde. Nach einigen Wechseln wurde dann auch der Reiter ausgewechselt. Weiter ging der wilde Ritt entlang des Trails, der über 3’000 Kilometer von St. Joseph, Missouri, nach San Francisco, Kalifornien, führte.

PS. Der Pony Express existierte nur für 19 Monate. Ab Oktober 1861 übernahm die transkontinentale Telegraphenlinie die Kommunikation. Und ab 1869, als die Eisenbahnlinie quer durchs Land fertiggestellt war, wurde der Transport von Siedlern und Post vom «Stahlross» übernommen.