22. July 2019

SUMMER IN NEWFOUNDLAND

A rare summer day to enjoy!

Never again do we want to hear someone in Switzerland complaining about a bad summer. If one complained in Switzerland during the Cold War, one was sent «to Moscow». If Swiss citizens complain about the summer, you should send them to Newfoundland for a few summers!

Newfoundland is a Canadian province we like a lot. If the sun is shining, there are only a few regions we like better than this island in the North Atlantic. The only problem is that these sunny days can be counted on one hand. Or let’s say two! When the sky is gray and it storms and rains, Newfoundland loses much of its charm. But not the inhabitants who stoically accept this weather and make fun of it. Like the resident of Trinity, who said the day before yesterday – it was a sunny day after several rainy days – with a sympathetic laugh: «Today we celebrate summer!»

In Newfoundland, summer is not seen as a season. Here it takes place by the hour or by the day. If the summer is here, then you enjoy it. Shorts and T-shirts replace long pants, pullovers and raincoats. Chairs are placed on the terrace, laundry is dried in the sun. Such a summer slump has multiple implications: When we wanted to buy Ben & Jerry Ice Cream at the Walmart in St. John’s, the racks were barely empty. Summer Sale!

22. Juli 2019

SOMMER IN NEUFUNDLAND

A rare summer day to enjoy!

Nie mehr wollen wir in der Schweiz jemand hören, der über einen schlechten Sommer klagt. Jammerte man in den Zeiten des Kalten Krieges in der Schweiz, dann wurde man «nach Moskau« geschickt. Bei Klagen über den Sommer müsste man diese Schweizer zur Strafe für ein paar Sommer nach Neufundland schicken!

Neufundland ist eine kanadische Provinz, die uns sehr gefällt. Bei Sonnenschein gibt es nur wenige Gegenden die uns besser gefallen als diese Insel im Nordatlantik. Das Problem ist nur, dass diese sonnigen Tage an einer Hand abgezählt werden können. Oder sagen wir an zwei! Ist der Himmel grau und es stürmt und regnet, dann verliert Neufundland viel von seinem Charme. Nicht aber die Einwohner, die dieses Wetter stoisch hinnehmen und sich darüber lustig machen. So wie jene Bewohnerin in Trinity, die vorgestern – es war ein sonniger Tag nach mehreren Regentagen – mit einem sympathischen Lachen meinte: «Today we celebrate summer!»

In Neufundland wird der Sommer nicht als Jahreszeit gesehen. Hier findet er stunden- oder tageweise statt. Ist der Sommer dann hier, dann geniesst man ihn. Shorts und T-Shirts lösen lange Hosen, Pullover und Regenjacke ab. Stühle werden auf die Terrasse gestellt, Wäsche wird an der Sonne getrocknet. Ein solcher «Sommer-Einbruch» hat vielfache Auswirkungen: Als wir im Walmart in St. Johns Ben & Jerry Eiscream kaufen wollten, waren die Gestelle ratzekahl leer. Sommer-Ausverkauf!