18. August 2019

FINNISH IN THUNDER BAY

Founded 1918 and still serving Good Food!

Where there is a lot of forest, it has many trees. Where there are many trees, it has a lot of wood. And where it has a lot of wood, it needs many lumberjacks. At least when the wood is to be felled. That was the job of the young Finns who came to Thunder Bay, Ontario, a hundred years ago. (Whether they brought their ax from home is beyond my knowledge.)

Working in the woods makes you hungry. The young Finnish lumberjacks needed a place where they could eat not only good and a lot, but also cheap. For this purpose, they founded the Hoito (Care), a restaurant that also served as a meeting place of the Finns. We got to know the Hoito eleven years ago due to an entry in the Lonely Planet. When we returned to Thunder Bay this time, we remembered that we had eaten there. So why not go there? Whether the restaurant still exists? When Brigitta searched for it via Google Maps, she actually found it. (But what are eleven years, if the Hoito has existed for over a hundred years already!)

We ordered Finnish specialties (herring, salmon, barley bread and apple salad) and were thrilled. During the lunch we also learned a few words Finnish: Yksi, kaksi, kolme (one, two, three). It’s just a pity that no Lapin Kulta or Reyka (Finnish beer and vodka) were served – that would have been a good fit!

PS: Thunder Bay is today home to the largest Finnish population outside Helsinki.

18. August 2019

SUOMI IN THUNDER BAY

Founded 1918 and still serving Good Food!

Wo es viel Wald hat, hat es viele Bäume. Wo es viele Bäume hat, hat es viel Holz. Und wo es viel Holz hat, braucht es viele Holzfäller. Zumindest dann, wenn das Holz geschlagen werden soll. Das war die Aufgabe der jungen Finnen, die vor hundert Jahren nach Thunder Bay, in Ontario, kamen. (Ob sie ihre Axt von zuhause mitbrachten, entzieht sich meiner Kenntnis.)

Holz schlagen macht hungrig. Die jungen finnischen Holzfäller brauchten einen Ort, wo sie nicht nur gut und viel, sondern auch günstig essen konnten. Zu diesem Zweck gründeten sie das Hoito (Betreuung), ein Restaurant, das zugleich als Treffpunkt der Finnen diente. Wir lernten das Hoito vor elf Jahren aufgrund eines Eintrages im Lonely Planet kennen. Als wir jetzt wieder in Thunder Bay waren, erinnerten wir uns daran, dass wir dort günstig und gut gegessen hatten. Weshalb also nicht ins Hoito, um dort zu lunchen? Ob es wohl das Restaurant noch gibt? Als Brigitta via Google Maps danach suchte, fand sie es tatsächlich. (Was sind schon elf Jahre, wenn das Hoito seit über hundert Jahren besteht!)

Wir bestellten finnische Spezialitäten (Hering, Lachs, Roggenbrot, Apfel- und Randensalat) und waren begeistert. Beim Lunch lernten wir auch noch ein paar Brocken Finnisch: Yksi, kaksi, kolme (Eins, zwei, drei). Nur schade, dass zum Essen kein Lapin Kulta oder Reyka (finnisches Bier und Vodka) serviert wurden – das hätte gut gepasst!

PS. Thunder Bay ist heute die Heimat der grössten finnischen Bevölkerungsgruppe ausserhalb Helsinkis.