5. November 2019

GREAT INDEED: GRAND CANYON

A Glimpse into the Earth

One of the scenic highlights and destination of many America travelers is the Grand Canyon. It laid on our route when we arrived in Arizona coming from Utah. Eleven Years ago, we gained for the first time a look into the canyon – back then from the north side. This time we wanted to have a look at it from the south side.

Wow! What a sight when you stand on the southern edge and look into the gullet that the Colorado River has dug into the earth’s crust over millions of years. The Americans are justifiably proud of this canyon. (They can do nothing for that; unlike the election of Donald!) It is 450 kilometers long, sixteen kilometers wide at the furthest point and 1600 meters deep.

It was cold that day and a biting wind made it even colder. But over us and a few thousand other visitors (not much that day!) a deep blue sky arched. The sun hardly warmed; but she let the canyon shine in its most beautiful light. If this canyon deserves a word, then it’s GRAND!

PS. The largest canyons on earth include the Fishriver Canyon, Namibia; Barranca del Cobre, Mexico; Colca Canyon, Peru and the Yarlung Tsangpo Gorge, Tibet. We are impressed by all.

(Written in an Airbnb in Flagstaff, Arizona)

5. November 2019

IMPOSANT GROSS: GRAND CANYON

A Glimpse into the Earth

Einer der landschaftlichen Höhepunkte und das Ziel vieler Amerika-Reisenden ist der Grand Canyon. Der lag auf unserer Route, als wir von Utah herkommend in Arizona einfuhren. Wir hatten vor elf Jahren zum ersten Mal einen Blick in den Canyon geworfen – damals auf der Nordseite. Dieses Mal wollten wir ihn auf der Südseite ansehen.

Wow! Was für ein Anblick, wenn man am Canyonrand steht und in den Schlund blickt, den der Colorado River über Millionen Jahre in die Erdkruste gegraben hat. Mit Recht sind die Amerikaner stolz auf diesen Canyon (Dafür können Sie zwar nichts – im Gegensatz zur Wahl von Donald!) 450 Kilometer lang ist er. Sechzehn Kilometer breit an der weitesten Stelle. Und 1600 Meter tief.

Es war kalt an diesem Tag und ein bissiger Wind liess es noch kälter erscheinen. Aber über uns und ein paar weiteren tausend Besuchern (wenige an diesem Tag!) wölbte sich ein tiefblauer Himmel. Die Sonne wärmte zwar kaum; doch sie liess den Grand Canyon in seinem schönsten Licht erstrahlen. Wenn dieser Canyon ein Wort verdient hat, dann ist es: GRAND!

PS: Zu den grössten Canyons der Erde gehören der Fishriver Canyon, Namibia; Barranca del Cobre, Mexiko; Colca Canyon, Peru und die Yarlung Tsangpo Schlucht, Tibet. Beeindruckt sind wir von allen!

 (Geschrieben im Airbnb in Flagstaff, Arizona)