5. October 2019

TILLAMOOK: GOOD THINGS FROM GOOD MILK

Stands for quality dairy products!

On October 3, 2019, we reached Tillamook on the Pacific coast in northern Oregon. For the first time, I came into contact with this name was on an ice cream packaging. (That’s not surprising for the ones who know me!) It was in Salt Lake City, when I came across a large ice cream pack in a food store, which prominently wore the logo Tillamook.  The ice cream tasted great; and I searched in the Web, what’s up with Tillamook?

Tillamook is a small town in northern Oregon with just under 5,000 inhabitants. For 100 years there has been a Farmer Cooperative, which produces good products from good milk. The town is located on the Pacific coast and so it was not surprising that we repeatedly came across warning signs that pointed to the escape route in the event of a tsunami. Despite all this, we did not miss the sign to the Tillamook Creamery:  Tillamook

The parking lot was quite full although the school holidays are over. We found a spot for our car, grabbed the camera and made our way to the new visitor center, which is visited annually by 1.3 million people. The next hour we looked at how cheese, yogurt and ice cream are produced.

Ok! You can forget about the cheese if you are Swiss and a lover of Gruyere, Sbrinz, Vacherin Mont d’Or and this cheese:  Arnold Walker AG . But the yoghurt, however, is delicious. And the ice cream is just heavenly!

PS. In the future, we will have to choose between Ben & Jerry and Tillamook. Or – I would like that best – enjoy an ice cream from every brand!

(Written at the Bird Observatory Baskett Butte close to Dallas, Oregon)

5. Oktober 2019

TILLAMOOK: GUTE DINGE AUS GUTER MILCH

Stands for quality dairy products!

Am 3.10.2019 erreichten wir Tillamook an der Pazifikküste im nördlichen Oregon. Zum ersten Mal kam ich mit diesem Ort auf einer Glacé-Verpackung in Kontakt. (Wer mich kennt, den erstaunt das nicht!) Es war in Salt Lake City, als ich in einem Food Store auf grosse Ice Cream Packungen stiess, die prominent den Schriftzug Tillamook trugen. Die Glacé schmeckte hervorragend; und ich machte mich im Web schlau, was es denn mit Tillamook auf sich hat.

Tillamook ist ein kleiner Ort im Norden von Oregon mit knapp 5’000 Einwohnern. Hier gibt es seit 100 Jahren eine Farmer-Kooperative, die aus guter Milch gute Produkte herstellt. Das Städtchen liegt an der Pazifikküste und so war es nicht erstaunlich, dass wir immer wieder auf Warnschilder stiessen, die auf den Fluchtweg bei einem Tsunami hinwiesen. Trotz alledem übersahen wir das Hinweisschild zur Tillamook Creamery nicht: Tillamook

Der Parkplatz war gut besetzt und das obwohl die Schulferien auch hier zu Ende sind. Wir fanden ein Plätzchen für Mahangu, schnappten die Kamera und machten uns auf den Weg ins neue Besucherzentrum, das jährlich von 1,3 Mio. besucht wird. Die nächste Stunde schauten wir uns an, wie Käse, Joghurt und Ice Cream hergestellt werden.

Also: Den Käse kann man vergessen, wenn man Liebhaber von Greyerzer, Sbrinz, Vacherin Mont d’Or und vom Walker-Käse ist Arnold Walker AG Das Joghurt jedoch ist köstlich, auch wenn es nicht im Glas verkauft wird. Und die Glacé ist einfach himmlisch!

PS: In Zukunft werden wir uns zwischen Ben & Jerry und Tillamook entscheiden müssen. Oder – das würde mir am besten gefallen – eine Ice Cream von jeder Marke genießen!

(Geschrieben beim Bird Observatory Baskett Butte bei Dallas, Oregon)