23. August 2019

EDMONTON – TUK: 2’050 MILES

An Adventure of a Lifetime: Dempster-Highway

Actually, the title should read: From Edmonton to Tuktoyaktuk (literally: «Looks like a big Caribou»). This name, which is difficult to pronounce, is abbreviated Tuk. Tuk is located on the Arctic Ocean, at 69 ° 26 ‘N, 133 ° 2’ W, is the northernmost town in Canada and has nearly a thousand inhabitants.

Inuvik, the next largest settlement with about 3,000 inhabitants, is located some 140 kilometers further south. Since November 2017, these two villages are connected by an all-weather road. This was not built primarily for tourists like us to drive to the Arctic Ocean. This road was built because Canada wants to drill for oil and gas in the Arctic. Meanwhile, however, these plans were put on ice; but that may change again under the next government.

It is certain that there are rich oil and gas deposits in the Arctic. It is also certain that this region will become increasingly important in the future. Not only Canada, but also Russia and the US are interested in mining resources in the Arctic. (That «Donald Duck», aka Trump, wants to buy Greenland is proof of how important this region is to the US.)

So, we have every reason to visit this area before it will be destroyed by oil pipelines and tankers. On August 23, 2019 our next adventure starts: The journey from Edmonton to Dawson City and Tuk via the Dempster-Highway. We are looking forward to it. And Mahangu as well, because he not only got a good service but also new shock absorbers!

PS. If you want to know more about this region and the Dempster-Highway, click here: Dempster Highway

23. August 2019

EDMONTON – TUK: 3’300 KM

An Adventure of a Lifetime: Dempster-Highway

Eigentlich müsste der Titel heissen: Von Edmonton nach Tuktoyaktuk (wörtlich: «Sieht aus wie ein grosses Karibu»). Dieser schwer auszusprechende Name wird in Kanada mit Tuk abgekürzt. Tuk liegt am arktischen Ozean, auf 69° 26’ N, 133° 2’ W, ist der nördlichste Ort in Kanada und hat knapp tausend Einwohner.

Inuvik, die nächst grössere Siedlung mit rund 3’000 Einwohnern, liegt runde 140 Kilometer weiter südlich. Seit November 2017 sind diese beiden Ortschaften durch eine Allwetter-Strasse verbunden. Diese wurde nicht in erster Linie dazu gebaut, damit Touristen wie wir bis an den Arktischen Ozean fahren können. Gebaut wurde diese Strasse, weil Kanada in der Arktis nach Öl und Gasvor-kommen bohren will. Inzwischen allerdings wurden diese Pläne auf Eis gelegt; doch das kann sich unter der nächsten Regierung wieder ändern.

Sicher ist, dass es in der Arktis reiche Öl- und Gasvorkommen gibt. Sicher ist auch, dass diese Region in Zukunft vermehrt an Bedeutung gewinnen wird. Nicht nur Kanada, sondern auch Russland und die USA sind am Abbau der Rohstoff-vorkommen in der Arktis interessiert. (Dass «Donald Duck», aka Trump, Grönland kaufen will, ist ein Beweis dafür wie wichtig den USA diese Region ist.) Wir haben also allen Grund diese Gegend noch zu besichtigen, bevor sie durch Öl-Pipelines und -Tanker verunstaltet wird.

Am 23. August 2019 beginnt unser nächstes Abenteuer: Die Fahrt von Edmonton nach Dawson City und Tuk via den Dempster-Highway. Wir freuen uns darauf. Und Mahangu ebenfalls, denn er hat nicht nur einen guten Service, sondern auch neue Stossdämpfer erhalten.

PS: Wer mehr über diese Region und den Dempster-Highway wissen will, der klickt hier: Dempster Highway