2. September 2019

FROM WHITEHORSE TO DAWSON CITY

Welcome to Dawson City!

On the 29th of August 2019 we left the Caribou campsite. We will remember it very well. As well as the Cordon Bleus, the Fries and the Coupe Denmark (for me)! Luckily, we recently got a bottle of rum, Flor de Caña (aged 10 years in a barrel), in the Bar! After such a meal you need a Digestif!

The next morning a first glimps to the sky! It was steel blue! If the predictions come true, then we will have the best weather in Inuvik! Even better is, that for the coming weekend Northern Lights are announced! A shower – the last for a long time – we did not miss. Then a hot espresso, fresh bread with butter, raspberry jam and honey. The day started well …

In Whitehorse a short stop for refueling and shopping. In the Alpine Bakery, where a German baker is at work, we bought two fresh Pretzels. Now we were ready for the 540 kilometers to Dawson City, as we have cold beer in the fridge as well! Shortly outside the city we turned off from the Alaska on the Klondike-Highway. It took us through a breathtakingly beautiful autumn landscape to Stewart Crossing, where we crossed the river of the same name. Shortly there-after, we entered the Moose Campground, where we pitched our camp.

The remaining 140 kilometers we tackled the next day. On the afternoon we reached Dawson City, at the confluence of the Klondike- and Yukon-Rivers. Here in 1896 the gold rush on Klondike was triggered. This is still witnessed today by the huge clearance dumps around the city!

PS: In Dawson City, in 1910, Jack London was inspired for his famous novel «Burning Daylight».

2. September 2019

VON WHITEHORSE NACH DAWSON CITY

Welcome to Dawson City!

Am 29. August 2019 verliessen wir den Caribou Campingplatz. Wir werden ihn in bester Erinnerung behalten. So wie auch die Cordon Bleus, die Pommes und den Coupe Dänemark (für mich). Zum Glück haben wir seit kurzem eine Flasche Rum, Flor de Caña (10 Jahre im Fass gealtert), in der «Fahr-Bar»! Nach so einem Essen braucht es einen Digestif!

Am nächsten Morgen ein erster Blick zum Himmel! Er war stahlblau! Wenn sich die Prognosen bewahrheiten, dann werden wir in Inuvik das schönste Wetter haben! Noch besser ist, dass für das kommende Wochenende Polarlichter angesagt sind! Eine Dusche – die letzte für längere Zeit – liessen wir uns nicht entgehen. Danach ein heisser Espresso, frischer Zopf mit Butter, Himbeer-Marmelade und Honig. Der Tag liess sich gut an…

In Whitehorse ein kurzer Zwischenhalt zum Tanken und Einkaufen. In der Alpine Bakery, wo ein deutscher Bäcker tätig ist, kauften wir zwei frische Bretzel. Jetzt waren wir für die 540 Kilometer bis Dawson City gerüstet, denn kaltes Bier haben wir im Kühlschrank! Kurz ausserhalb der Stadt bogen wir vom Alaska- auf den Klondike-Highway ab. Er führte uns durch eine atemberaubend schöne Herbst-landschaft nach Stewart Crossing, wo wir den gleichnamigen Fluss überquerten. Kurz danach trafen wir auf den Moose-Campground, wo wir unser Nachtlager aufschlugen.

Die restlichen 140 Kilometer nahmen wir am nächsten Tag in Angriff. Am 30. August 2019, am frühen Nachmittag, erreichten wir Dawson City, am Zusammen-fluss des Klondike- und Yukon-Rivers. Hier wurde 1896 der Goldrausch am Klondike ausgelöst. Davon zeugen heute noch die riesigen Abräumhalden rund um die Stadt!

PS: In Dawson City liess sich Jack London 1910 zu seinem berühmten Roman «Lockruf des Goldes» inspirieren.