11. October 2019

THIS IS A STEAK!

Mouthwatering 600 Gramm!

I love pasta over everything! The crossing on the Grande Amburgo from Hamburg to Montevideo in 2017 lasted 34 days, during which we were served pasta every day! And when Brigitta asks me: «What would you like to eat tonight?», then she usually gets to hear: «Preferably Pasta with Gorgonzola Sauce». But what’s served as pasta in the US is far from what’s on the plate in Italy. If you do not meet an Italian immigrant who has opened a Ristorante here, then you better don’t touch the fork. Mostly it is a big disappointment.

You won’t be disappointed in the US, if you order a steak. That’s what we did in Burns, in eastern Orgeon, on 8.10.2019. For days Brigitta was looking forward to a juicy steak. I had promised her that we would not leave Oregon without eating a steak. As we drove past large herds of cattle, our mouths watered!

«Where can we get a good steak?» was the question I asked a man in the parking lot in front of the Safeway supermarket. The answer came like out of the pistol: «In the Pine Inn, just two blocks from here!». And indeed: The Cowboy Steak, 20 oz, was just superb! And it was big too!

PS. Did Donald mean the steaks in Oregon with his slogan Make America great again?

(Written at the Agriculture Research Center, Burns, Oregon)

11. Oktober 2019

WAS FÜR EIN STEAK!

Mouthwatering 600 Gramm!

Ich liebe Pasta über alles! Die Überfahrt auf der Grande Amburgo von Hamburg nach Montevideo, im Herbst 2017, dauerte 34 Tage. Während denen bekamen wir jeden Tag Pasta serviert! Und fragt mich Brigitta jeweils: «Was möchtest du denn heute Abend essen», dann bekommt sie meistens zu hören: «Am liebsten Pasta an Gorgonzola-Sosse». Doch das, was in den USA als Pasta serviert wird, ist weit von dem entfernt, was in Italien auf den Teller kommt. Trifft man nicht auf einen italienischen Immigranten, der hier ein Ristorante eröffnet hat, dann lässt man lieber die Gabel davon. Meistens ist es eine sehr grosse Enttäuschung.

Selten enttäuscht wird man jedoch in den USA, wenn man ein Steak bestellt. Das taten wir ins Burns, im Osten von Orgeon, am 8.10.2019. Seit Tagen schon freute sich Brigitta auf ein saftiges Steak. Ich hatte ihr versprochen, dass wir Oregon nicht verlassen, ohne ein Steak gegessen zu haben. Als wir an grossen Rinderherden vorbeifuhren, lief uns beiden das Wasser im Munde zusammen!

«Where can we get a good Steak» war die Frage, die ich einem Mann auf dem Parkplatz vor dem Safeway stellte. Die Antwort kam wie aus der Pistole geschossen: «In the Pine Inn, just two blocks from here!». Und tatsächlich: Das Cowboy Steak, 20 oz, war einfach superb! Und gross war es auch!

PS: Ob Donald wohl mit seinem Slogan «Make America great again» auch die Steaks in Oregon gemeint hat? Das Amber-Bier mit dem treffenden Namen «Oktoberfest» war übrigens auch nicht zu verachten!

(Geschrieben beim Agriculture Research Center, Burns, Oregon)