14. April 2020

WHEN I GET OLDER …

Oh happy Day!

… the Beatles sang many, many years ago! We actually wanted to celebrate my 75th birthday in Tahiti. But we didn’t make it there – not least because of the Corona virus. The borders to the south have been tight for months; and we’re stuck in Mexico. But what does mean «get stuck» really! We cannot have it any better than here! After two weeks at the Balneario with Roberto we went back for my birthday to Charly’s Restaurant.

April 14th started with a champagne breakfast in the Chambre séparée. We were amazed when a picture of my 70th birthday in Namibia was on the table. Friends in Switzerland had organized the breakfast and emailed the picture to Charly and he fitted it in a frame! Muchas gracias! And now I celebrated my 75th birthday here, which is not a given either …

And then Dinner! For starters there was Guacamole with filled eggs. Then a beef steak tatar with crispy bread. It was a pleasure! The excellent meal was accompanied by a five-member Mariachi band that played «Cuando sali de Cuba» especially for me. It was an unforgettable day!

PS. The absolute top followed at the end: Charly and Urs had prepared a special dessert. And I got the biggest piece in the shape of a heart! What a life!

14. April 2020

WHEN I GET OLDER…

Oh happy Day!

… sangen die Beatles vor vielen, vielen Jahren! Eigentlich wollten wir meinen 75. Geburtstag auf Tahiti feiern. Doch bis dorthin haben wir es – auch wegen dem Corona-Virus – nicht geschafft. Seit Monaten sind die Grenzen in den Süden dicht; und wir stecken in Mexiko fest. Doch was heisst schon «feststecken»! Schöner als hier können wir es nicht haben! Nach zwei Wochen im Balneario bei Roberto sind wir zu meinem Geburtstag zu Charly’s Restaurant gefahren.

Der 14. April begann mit einem Champagner-Frühstück im Chambre séparée. Wir staunten nicht schlecht, als auf dem Tisch ein Bild von meinem 70. Geburtstag in Namibia stand. Freunde in der Schweiz hatten das Frühstück bestellt und die Aufnahme an Charly gemailt; und der passte sie in einen Rahmen! So feierte ich hier meinen 75. Geburtstag, was ja in Zeiten des Virus auch nicht so selbstverständlich ist…

Und dann das Abendessen! Zur Vorspeise gab es Guacamole mit gefüllten Eiern. Danach ein Beef Steak Tatar und dazu knuspriges Brot von Charly. Es war ein Genuss! Begleitet wurde das hervorragende Essen von einer fünfköpfigen Mariachi-Band, die speziell für mich «Cuando sali de Cuba» spielte. Es war ein unvergesslicher Tag!

PS. Der absolute Hammer folgte zum Schluss: Charly und Urs hatten zum Dessert Crèmeschnitten zubereitet. Und ich bekam das grösste Stück in Herzform! La vida es chula!