30. July 2019

BIENVENUE EN QUEBEC!

Atlantic Scallops: A Delicacy!

Taking the ferry from St. Barbe to Sablon Blanc, you end up not in Labrador but in the Province of Quebec, where they speak French. To get to Labrador you have to turn north for a few kilometers. There they speak English.

We were the only ones who turned south on 26th July 2019. The road is a dead end and leads only to Vieux Fort. After an overnight stay at the Strait of Belle we drove for forty kilometers the next morning, until we came to the sign Aqua Labadie Scallop Farm. Strange; everything was quiet, even though it was already 9.30. Claire, the sympathetic owner who walked out in a dressing gown, then told us that it is only 8 o’clock in the Province of Quebec! Excusez-nous! We reset our watches by 1 1/2 hours and arranged for a visit at 10 o’clock. Until then, her husband, Philippe, who was under the shower, would be ready as well.

At 10 o’clock we stood in front of the house of the Labadies. Philippe, who had 17 years ago the idea to found a scallop farm on this bay, guided us through his kingdom. Chapeau, what the two have built up during this time. Today they live from the guided tours which they finish off with two fresh scallops and a glass of Labadie (French white wine). Bon appétit!

More information about the Labadies and Scallops: www.tourlabrador.ca

30. Juli 2019

BIENVENUE EN QUEBEC!

Atlantic Scallops: A Delicacy!

Nimmt man die Fähre von St. Barbe nach Sablon Blanc, dann landet man nicht in Labrador sondern in der Provinz Quebec, wo man Französisch spricht. Um nach Labrador zu kommen, muss man wenige Kilometer nach Norden abbiegen. Dort spricht man dann Englisch.

Wir waren die Einzigen, die am 26.7.2019 nach Süden abbogen. Die Strasse ist eine Sackgasse und führt nur bis nach Vieux Fort. Nach einer Übernachtung an der Strait of Belle fuhren wir am nächsten Morgen vierzig Kilometer, bis wir auf das Schild Aqua Labadie Scallop Farm stiessen. Seltsam; alles war ruhig, obwohl es bereits 9.30 Uhr war. Claire, die sympathische Besitzerin, die im Morgen-mantel aus dem Haus trat, klärte uns dann auf, dass es in der Provinz Quebec erst 8 Uhr ist! Excusez-nous! Wir stellten die Zeiger unserer Uhren um 1 1/2 Stunden zurück und verabredeten uns für eine Besichtigung um 10 Uhr. Bis dann würde auch ihr Mann, Philippe, bereit sein, der noch unter der Dusche stand.

Punkt 10 Uhr standen wir vor dem Haus der Labadies. Philippe, der vor siebzehn Jahren die Idee hatte, an dieser Bucht eine Scallop-Farm zu gründen, führte uns durch sein Reich. Chapeau, was die beiden in dieser Zeit aufgebaut haben. Heute leben sie von den Führungen, bei denen sie zum Schluss den Besuchern zwei frische Scallops (Jakobsmuscheln) und ein Glas Labadie (französischer Weisswein) kredenzen. Bon appétit!

Mehr Infos über die Labadies und ihre Scallops: www.tourlabrador.ca