17. June 2019

WOODSTOCK: INCENSE AND FRESH BREAD

Three days of peace and music!

In August 2019, it’s been 50 years since an event took place in Woodstock that went down in music history. Three days of peace and music was the motto of this monster concert that has changed the music world. The concert took place on the pasture from a dairy farmer in White Lake near the small town of Bethel, about 70 kilometers southwest of the eponymous and originally planned venue in Woodstock.

Woodstock is regarded as the height and the endpoint of the mainstream hippie movement in the USA. From 15 to 17 August 1969, played in front of an estimated 400,000 visitors, 32 bands and solo artists of the genres of folk, rock, psychedelic rock, blues and country appeared. Including stars like Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin and The Who. There were twice as many viewers as expected.

North of our route northbound were the Catskill Mountains and Woodstock. It was only logic, that we made a detour there. There is not much left of that time. There are still a few hippies to be seen, and from a shop selling T-shirts, the strong smell of incense sticks penetrated the air. That’s it. On a T-shirt from that time we read «1’444 Feet: Everybody is high here». This alluded to the fact that in Woodstock also marijuana, mescaline and LSD were consumed.

We will remember Woodstock as the place of the bakery Bread alone, where we could buy delicious bread. It didn’t smell like incense.

PS. In August 2019 Woodstock will remember the concert that took place here 50 years ago. Bob Dylan is still alive. Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix and many others not anymore …

17. Juni 2019

WOODSTOCK: RÄUCHERSTÄBCHEN UND FRISCHES BROT

Three days of peace and music!

Im August 2019 sind es 50 Jahre her, seit in Woodstock ein Anlass stattgefunden hat, der in die Musikgeschichte einging. «Three days of Peace and Music» war das Motto dieses Monster-Konzerts, das die Musikwelt verändert hat. Als Austragungsort dienten Weidefelder eines Milchbauern in White Lake nahe der Kleinstadt Bethel, etwa 70 Kilometer südwestlich vom namensgebenden und ursprünglich angedachten Veranstaltungsort in Woodstock.

Woodstock gilt als Höhe- und gleichzeitig Endpunkt der im Mainstream angekommenen Hippiebewegung in den USA. Vor geschätzten 400.000 Besuchern traten vom 15. – 17. August 1969 32 Bands und Solokünstler der Musikrichtungen Folk, Rock, Psychedelic Rock, Blues und Country auf. Darunter Stars wie Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin und The Who. Die erwarteten Zuschauerzahlen wurden um mehr als das Doppelte übertroffen.

Auf unserer Route nordwärts lagen die Catskill Mountains und Woodstock. Logisch, dass wir einen Abstecher dorthin machten. Von damals ist nicht mehr viel übrig. Es sind noch ein paar Hippies zu sehen und aus einem Laden, wo T-Shirts verkauft werden, drang Räucherstäbchen geschwängerte Luft. Das war’s. Auf einem T-Shirt aus dieser Zeit lasen wir «1’444 Feet: Everybody is high here». Damit wurde darauf angespielt, dass in Woodstock auch Marihuana, Mescalin und LSD dabei waren.

Gut in Erinnerung bleiben wird uns die Bäckerei Bread alone, wo wir wieder einmal sehr gutes Brot laufen konnten. Dieses roch auch nicht nach Räucherstäbchen.

PS: Im August 2019 wird in Woodstock gefeiert und an das Konzert erinnert-, das vor 50 Jahren hier stattfand. Bob Dylan lebt noch. Janis Joplin, Jimi Henrdix und viele andere nicht mehr…