18. September 2019

YUKON – LARGER THAN LIFE

Larger than Life

If Yukon is something, it’s big. Almost bigger than life. This province is TEN times the size of Switzerland. Ten times! However, only 40,000 people live here. So it has a lot of space. A good that is getting scarcer in Switzerland every year. (I remember my school days when we learned that Switzerland has 5 million inhabitants, today there are 8.5 and the country has not grown bigger.)

What we liked so much in the Yukon? You drive and drive and drive; and hardly sees another car. You go and go and go; and hardly meet another person. One looks and looks and looks; and always sees something new. Yukon may actually be bigger than life!

We left Yukon two weeks ago and are now in the province which calls itself Beautiful British Columbia. It’s true: British Columbia is beautiful. But more special is the Yukon! We will think back to that time up there for a long time …

PS: In addition to the beautiful memories of the Yukon we take from the north of Canada also four additional holes in the windshield! Reminiscent of driving on gravel roads!

(Written in Vernon, BC, Canada)

18. September 2019

YUKON – LARGER THAN LIFE

Larger than Life

Wenn Yukon etwas ist, dann ist es gross. Fast grösser als das Leben. Diese Provinz ist ZEHN Mal so gross wie die Schweiz. Zehn Mal! Es leben jedoch nur 40’000 Menschen hier; also hat es viel Platz. Ein Gut, das in der Schweiz jedes Jahr knapper wird. (Ich erinnere mich an meine Schulzeit, als wir lernten, dass die Schweiz 5 Mio. Einwohner hat. Heute sind es 8.5 und das Land ist nicht grösser geworden.)

Was uns im Yukon so gefallen hat? Man fährt und fährt und fährt; und sieht kaum ein anderes Auto. Man geht und geht und geht; und trifft kaum auf einen anderen Menschen. Man sieht und sieht und sieht; und sieht immer wieder etwas Neues. Yukon ist vielleicht tatsächlich grösser als das Leben!

Wir haben Yukon vor zwei Wochen verlassen und sind seither in einer Provinz, die von sich sagt: Beautiful British Columbia. Es stimmt: British Columbia ist schön. Doch spezieller ist der Yukon! Wir werden noch lange an diese Zeit dort oben zurückdenken…

PS: Neben den schönen Erinnerungen an den Yukon nehmen wir aus dem Norden Kanadas auch vier zusätzliche Löcher in der Frontscheibe mit! Reminiszenzen an das Fahren auf Gravelroads!

(Geschrieben in Vernon, BC, Kanada)