3. October 2019

A VISIT AT BOEING

Wings are unloaded from the Dreamlifter!

In the state of Washington, on the Pacific coast, lies Everett. Boeing is at home here. This US company is the world’s largest manufacturer of civil and military aircraft and helicopters and also engaged in space technology. The company employs around 150,000 people and together with Airbus forms the duopoly for large-capacity aircraft.

At present, Boeing and Airbus are covering each other with complaints from the World Trade Organization. (According to the NZZ of October 2, 2019, the WTO allows Americans to impose US $ 7.5 billion in punitive tariffs because Airbus has received government subsidies. The Europeans are suing Boeing for the same!) Boeing, how-ever, is currently in serious trouble. Since the crash of two 737 Max with 346 fatalities, these machines are on the ground worldwide. Even more adversity comes to the company, because the model Boeing 737 NG (the precursor model) show some cracks.

Of course, on the 90-minute tour on September 30 2019, none of this was heard. It was more convenient to tell that Boeing developed the Boeing 747 (Jumbo Jet), the first large-capacity aircraft that for the first time took off in 1969. And, of course, Air Force One, which is currently flying Donald to Pyongyang and other destinations, is also a Boeing 747.

PS. By chance we got to see the Dreamlifter. A huge plane that flies parts from all over the world to Everett, where they are put together to the Dreamliner (Boeing 787). 

(Written on a rest stop near Astoria, Oregon)

3. Oktober 2019

ZU BESUCH BEI BOEING

Wings are unloaded from the Dreamlifter!

Im Staat Washington, an der Pazifikküste, liegt Everett. Dort ist Boeing zuhause. Diese US-Firma ist der weltgrösste Hersteller ziviler und militärischer Flugzeuge und Hubschrauber und auch in der Raumfahrttechnik tätig. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt rund 150’000 Mitarbeiter und bildet mit Airbus zusammen das Duo-pol für Grossraum-Flugzeuge.

Zurzeit decken sich Boeing und Airbus gegenseitig mit Klagen bei der Welt-    handelsorganisation ein. (Gemäss NZZ vom 2.10.2019 erlaubt die WTO den Ameri-kanern 7.5 Mia. US$ Strafzölle zu verlangen, weil Airbus staatliche Subventionen erhielt. Die Europäer klagen Boeing fürs Gleiche ein!) Boeing allerdings steckt zurzeit auch sonst in argen Schwierigkeiten. Seit dem Absturz zweier 737 Max mit 346 Todesopfern stehen diese Maschinen weltweit am Boden. Noch mehr Ungemach kommt auf die Firma zu, weil sich beim Modell Boeing 737 NG (dem Vorläufer-modell) Risse zeigen.

Von all dem war natürlich bei der 90 Minuten dauernden Führung, die wir am 30. September 2019 machten, nichts zu hören. Man erzählte lieber, dass Boeing mit der Boeing 747 (Jumbo-Jet) das erste Grossraum-Flugzeug entwickelte, das 1969 zum ersten Mal in den Himmel abhob. Und natürlich auch, dass die Air Force One, mit der zurzeit Donald nach Pjöngjang und anderen Destinationen fliegt, eben-falls eine Boeing 747 ist.

PS: Per Zufall bekamen wir den Dreamlifter zu sehen. Ein riesiges Flugzeug, das Teile aus aller Welt nach Everett fliegt, wo sie zum Dreamliner (Boeing 787) zusammen-gefügt werden.

(Geschrieben auf einem Rastplatz bei Astoria, Oregon)