7. August 2019

A VISIT TO QUEBEC

Québec: Ici, on parle français!

Under a blue sky we arrived on 2nd August 2019 in Quebec. It was our second visit to this city, but we looked forward to it as if it were our first. In addition, winter temperatures prevailed on our first visit. Now, however, we are here in midsummer, which is noticeable in temperatures of over twenty degrees. (After a month in cooler areas, we have to get used to higher temperatures again!)

We found an excellent place to stay at the St. Lawrence River. The next morning we parked our vehicle and walked to the dock. Every half hour, a ferry transports vehicles and passengers to the other side of the river. If you arrive there, you are at the foot of the beautiful old town. A rack railway brought us to the landmark of Quebec, the Château Frontenac, which is today a ***** hotel. From up here we had a great view of this francophone city. We shared it with thousands of tourists from all over the world. There was a jumble of languages ​​as in the days of the Tower of Babel!

Ici, on parle français, albeit with an accent that often makes it difficult to understand the inhabitants. After months of speaking only English, our ears had to get used to the French again. When I hear the Québécois with their strong accent, then the français fédéral of the German-speaking Swiss seems to me quite passable.

PS: On July 24th 1967, the French President, Charles De Gaulle, uttered here his famous words: «Vive le Québec libre!».

7. August 2019

EIN TAG IN QUEBEC

Québec: Ici, on parle français!

Bei schönstem Wetter fuhren wir am 2. August 2019 in Québec ein. Es war unser zweiter Besuch dieser Stadt, doch wir freuten uns darauf, als ob es unser erster wäre. Zudem herrschten bei unserem ersten Besuch winterliche Temperaturen. Jetzt hingegen sind wir im Hochsommer hier. (Nach einem Monat in eher kühleren Gegenden, müssen wir uns wieder an höhere Temperaturen gewöhnen!)

Wir fanden einen exzellenten Übernachtungsplatz am St. Lorenz Strom. Am nächsten Morgen parkierten wir unser Fahrzeug und spazierten zur nahe gelegenen Anlegestelle. Alle halbe Stunde transportiert eine Fähre Fahrzeuge und Passagiere auf die andere Seite des Flusses. Kommt man dort an, steht man am Fuss der schönen Altstadt. Ein Funiculaire brachte uns zum Wahrzeichen Québecs, das Château Frontenac, das jetzt ein ***** Hotel ist.  Von hier oben hatten wir einen tollen Blick auf diese frankophone Stadt. Wir teilten ihn mit Tausenden von Touristen aus aller Welt. Es herrschte ein Sprachgewirr wie zu Zeiten des Turmbaus zu Babel!

«Ici, on parle français», wenn auch mit einem Akzent, der es oft schwermacht, die Einwohner zu verstehen. Nach Monaten, in denen wir nur Englisch gesprochen haben, mussten sich unsere Ohren erst ans Französisch gewöhnen. (Wenn ich die Quebecer mit ihrem starken Akzent höre, dann kommt mir das Français fédéral der Deutschschweizer ganz passabel vor!)

PS. Am 24. Juli 1967 äusserte der französische Präsident, Charles De Gaulle, hier sein berühmtes «Vive le Québec libre!»