13. August 2019

TWO DAYS IN OTTAWA

Parliament Hill by Night!

After three days in Montreal, which we needed mainly to work, we drove west, towards Ottawa. (Anyone who wonders what kind of work: sorting and editing photos, as far as Brigitta is concerned, writing posts for me.)

Even if you ask Swiss, which is the capital of Canada, many come in pondering. Is it Toronto? Or Montreal? Or maybe Quebec? No, it’s Ottawa! Capital became Ottawa – which in the native language means «merchant» – because Queen Victoria decided so in 1857. Her adviser (she was never in Canada) recommen-ded her Ottawa. Because of its location, this city could well serve as a link between the French- and English-speaking provinces.

We reached Ottawa on August 10th, 2019, under a blue summer sky.  Brigitta had read in the iOverlander that there is a parking lot in the middle of the city, which can be used at weekends as a place to stay for RVs as well. From there we explored the city and what it has to offer. For example, the extraordinary Northern Lights Show on the government building (see photo).

One thing is for sure: Ottawa is worth the trip! And Canada anyway!

13. August 2019

ZWEI TAGE IN OTTAWA

Parliament Hill by Night!

Nach drei Tagen in Montreal, die wir vor allem zum Arbeiten brauchten, fuhren wir westwärts, in Richtung Ottawa. (Wer sich fragt, was denn für uns Arbeit ist: Fotos sortieren und bearbeiten, was Brigitta betrifft; Beiträge schreiben, was mich betrifft.)

Selbst wenn man Schweizer frägt, welches die Hauptstadt Kanadas ist, kommen viele in Grübeln. Ist es Toronto? Oder Montreal? Oder doch Québec? Nein, es ist Ottawa! Hauptstadt wurde Ottawa – was in der Sprache der Ureinwohner «Händler» bedeutet – weil das Königin Victoria im Jahre 1857 so entschied. Ihre Berater (sie war nie in Kanada) empfahlen ihr Ottawa, weil diese Stadt aufgrund ihrer Lage gut als Bindeglied zwischen den Französisch und Englisch sprechen-den Provinzen dienen konnte.

Wir erreichten Ottawa am 10. August 2019, bei schönem Wetter. Brigitta hatte im iOverlander gelesen, dass es mitten in der Stadt einen Parkplatz gibt, der an Weekends auch als Übernachtungsplatz für RVs genutzt werden kann. Von dort aus erkundigten wir die Stadt und das, was sie zu bieten hat. Zum Beispiel eine tolle Light Show beim Regierungsgebäude (siehe Foto). 

Eines ist sicher: Ottawas ist eine Reise wert! Und Kanada sowieso!