13. March 2018

Don’t cry for me Argentina

Patagonia Nationalpark

On March 7, 2018 we drove via Perito Moreno, a meaningless town that shares its name with the famous National Park, to Los Antiguos, on Lake Buenos Aires. There we thought about how to proceed further. Directly to Chile or make a detour to Cochrane and drive the Carretera Austral to the end, to Villa O’Higgins? We chose the second variant. If we could go back, we would decide differently – but that’s another story …

We went south and followed a dirt road along the Chilean-Argentinian border. It took us through a breathtakingly beautiful area, along the Monte Zeballos. When we came to a sign that said that this route can only be traveled with 4×4, we were not surprised, to meet no oncoming traffic! The road wound through a hilly area; On the left side she was framed by the Montes. In the evening we found a perfect place in the woods to stay. The previous night we spent at a petrol station (there you can take a hot shower!) and therefore we enjoyed the absolute silence.

The next morning we had nice weather. After an hour’s drive we arrived at the Paso Roballos, which leads to Argentina. The customs crew had meanwhile been replaced. But they were just as nice as the previous one, even though there was no kiss for Brigitta this time! Twelve kilometers later, the Chilean customs, where we once again had to give away a few tomatoes.

And then we drove for a second time through the Patagonia National Park, where condors circled in the sky and guanacos grazed in the meadows. Just beautiful! The same day we reached Cochrane, where we stood for the last time about five weeks ago. From here to Villa O’Higgins it was still 230 kilometers. But they had it in it …

13. März 2018

Hasta luego Argentina

Patagonia Nationalpark

Am 7. März 2018 fuhren wir via Perito Moreno, ein nichtssagendes Städtchen, das den Namen mit dem berühmten Nationalpark teilt, nach Los Antiguos, am Lago Buenos Aires. Dort überlegten wir, wie es weitergehen soll. Direkt nach Chile oder doch noch einen Bogen nach Cochrane machen und die Carretera Austral bis nach Villa O’Higgins zu Ende fahren? Wir entschieden uns für diese Variante. Könnten wir nochmals zurück, würden wir uns anders entscheiden – doch das ist eine andere Geschichte…

Wir nahmen Kurs Süd und folgten einer Naturstrasse entlang der chilenisch-argentinischen Grenze. Sie führte uns durch eine atemberaubend schöne Gegend, entlang den Monte Zeballos. Als wir auf ein Schild stiessen, das besagte, dass diese Route nur mit 4×4 befahren werden kann, waren wir nicht erstaunt, auf keinen Gegenverkehr zu treffen! Die Strasse wand sich durch eine hügelige Gegend; auf der linken Seite wurde sie von den Montes eingerahmt. Gegen Abend fanden wir ein idyllisches Plätzchen zum Übernachten. Nach der vorherigen Nacht, die wir an einer Tankstelle verbrachten (dort kann man heiss duschen!) genossen wir die absolute Stille.

Am nächsten Morgen schönes Wetter. Nach einer Stunde Fahrt kamen wir zum Paso Roballos, der nach Argentinien führt. Die Zoll-Crew war unterdessen ausgewechselt worden. Sie war ebenso nett wie die frühere, auch wenn es dieses Mal kein Küsschen für Brigitta gab! Zwölf Kilometer später der chilenische Zoll, wo wir einmal mehr ein paar Tomaten abgaben.

Und dann fuhren wir nochmals durch den Patagonien-Nationalpark, wo am Himmel Kondore kreisten und auf den Wiesen Guanacos weideten. Einfach nur schön. Am gleichen Tag erreichten wir Cochrane, wo wir zum letzten Male vor fünf Wochen standen. Von hier aus bis nach Villa O’Higgins waren es noch 230 Kilometer. Doch die hatten es in sich…