Canada – West and Northwest

Prairie Provinces is a summary term for the Canadian provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. Together with British Columbia these are then called Western Canada. The area is one of the most important agricultural regions in the world due to the cultivation of cereals and the keeping of cattle herds. In Alberta, oil production has meanwhile outstripped the importance of cereal cultivation.

The Northwest Territories are adjacent to Yukon and Nunavut an area (territory) in Canada. These three territories forming the north of the state of Canada are subordinate to the Canadian federal government, unlike the provinces. In 2011, 41,462 people lived on an area of ​​1,346,106 km², of these over 20,000 were among the natives, so Inuit, Métis or First Nations as the Indians are called in Canada.

Yukon is the smallest and westernmost of Canada’s three territories It has the smallest population of any province or territory in Canada. Yukon was split from the Northwest Territories in 1898. At 5,959 m, Yukon’s Mount Logan, in Kluane National Park, is the highest mountain in Canada and the second-highest on the North American continent. (Source: Wikipedia)

Kanada – Westen und Nordwesten

Prärieprovinzen ist eine zusammenfassende Bezeichnung für die kanadischen Provinzen Alberta, Saskatchewan und Manitoba. Zusammen mit British Columbia werden diese dann als Westkanada bezeichnet. Das Gebiet zählt durch Getreideanbau und die Haltung von Rinderherden zu den wichtigsten landwirtschaftlichen Regionen der Welt. In Alberta hat die Erdölförderung mittlerweile den Getreideanbau in der Bedeutung überholt.

Die Nordwest-Territorien sind neben Yukon und Nunavut ein Gebiet (Territorium) in Kanada. Diese drei den Norden des Staates Kanada bildenden Territorien sind im Gegensatz zu den Provinzen direkt der kanadischen Bundesregierung unterstellt. Im Jahr 2011 lebten auf einer Fläche von 1.346.106 km² nur 41.462 Menschen, davon zählten über 20.000 zu den Ureinwohnern, also Inuit, Métis oder First Nations wie die Indianer in Kanada genannt werden.

Yukon ist das kleinste und westlichste der drei kanadischen Territorien. Es hat die kleinste Bevölkerung einer Provinz oder eines Territoriums in Kanada. Mit 5.959 m ist der Mount Logan von Yukon im Kluane National Park der höchste Berg Kanadas und der zweithöchste auf dem nordamerikanischen Kontinent.(Quelle: Wikipedia)