5. November 2018

PRAIA DA PIPA

Sun, Fun and Fruit Juices

If Brazil is famous for something, then for three things: Beautiful women, Caipirinhas and Praias (beaches). As for the first, you have to make big compromises! Not every Brazilian is a Gisele Bundchen or a carnival dancer! In the case of the Caipirinhas the image is correct. And for the beaches as well.

On our drive north we passed praias, where thousands of coconut palms sway in the wind. Behind it the sea shimmered turquoise blue. The temptation was great to stop at every beach. But the day on which our visa for Brazil expires, comes closer and closer. And only a few days’ journey away was our destination: Praia da Pipa. A fishing village until the seventies. Then this place – like Jericoacoara or Canoa Quebrada – was discovered by surfers. And so the development took a different direction. Today Praia da Pipa is a charming town with 6’500 inhabitants and many kite- and other surfers.

Praia da Pipa has kept its charm. Even the campsite above the cliffs, hasn’t had to make room for a hotel complex. It was our home for five nights. The days we spent at Praia do Amor, a surf beach for advanced. Our beach day began with drinking a coconut verde gelada. This was followed by a freshly squeezed mango juice. And in the afternoon we sipped a Caipirinha. In between, we watched pretty (!) Brazilian women, who promenaded in their Fil de dente along the beach; or refreshed us in the waves. So one day passed into the other – we liked them all. Just like the drinks …

5. November 2018

PRAIA DA PIPA

Sun, Fun and Fruit Juices

Wenn Brasilien für etwas bekannt ist, dann sind es drei Dinge: Schöne Frauen, Caipirinhas und Praias (Strände). Was das Erste betrifft, so muss man grosse Abstriche machen! Nicht jede Brasilianerin ist eine Gisele Bündchen oder eine Karnevals-Tänzerin! Bei den Caipirinhas trifft das Image voll zu. Und bei den Stränden sowieso.

Auf unserer Fahrt nordwärts passierten wir Praias, wo sich Tausende von Kokospalmen im Wind wiegen. Dahinter schimmerte türkisblau das Meer. Die Versuchung war gross, an jedem Strand Halt zu machen. Doch der Tag, an dem unser Visa für Brasilien abläuft, kommt näher und näher. Und nur ein paar Tagesreisen entfernt lag unser Ziel: Praia da Pipa – ein Fischerdörfchen bis in die siebziger Jahre. Dann wurde dieser Ort – wie Jericoacoara oder Canoa Quebrada – von Surfern entdeckt. Und damit nahm die Entwicklung eine andere Richtung. Heute ist Praia da Pipa ein charmantes Städtchen mit 6’500 Einwohnern und vielen Kite- und andern Surfern.

Praia da Pipa hat seinen Charme bewahren können. Sogar der Campingplatz oberhalb der Klippen, hat keinem Hotelkomplex Platz machen müssen. Er war für fünf Nächte unser Zuhause. Die Tage verbrachten wir am Praia do Amor, ein Surfstrand für Fortgeschrittene. Unser Strandtag begann mit dem Trinken einer Coco verde gelada. Danach folgte ein frisch gepresster suca da manga. Und nachmittags nippten wir an einem Caipirinha. Dazwischen schauten wir hübschen (!) Brasilianerinnen zu, die in ihren Fil de dente dem Strand entlang promenierten; oder erfrischten uns in den Wellen. So ging ein Tag in den andern über – gefallen haben uns alle. So wie die Drinks auch…