19. February 2018

Cabo Virgenes: Home of the penguins and beginning of «Ruta 40»

Thousends and thousends of them!

130 kilometers from Rio Gallegos, at Cabo Virgenes lies the second largest penguin colony in Argentina. There are – besides a lighthouse – countless penguins and a sign to see, which points to the beginning of the famous «Cuarenta». Here stars the 5’080-kilometer-long road that ends in La Quiaca, on the Bolivian border. On 17.2.2018 we made our way to the Cape. This part of the «Cuarenta». was the worst we drove. It took 3 hours to reach our destination, but the effort was worth it!

After the breeding season (each pair has a maximum of two chicks) there are up to 300,000 Magellan penguins waddling around here. In September, the penguin males arrive first. In October the females follow. Together they build a nest, which is used again year after year. In November, the little chickens are born. Most of the time only one survives, the other falls victim to skuas, foxes or gulls. These benefit when the penguins leave their cubs unattended. Or they steal the egg before it hatches. In November and December, the chickens are fed incessantly; In February they lose their fluff. In March, the adult penguins have renewed their plumage, which lasts 20 days, during which they cannot feed their cubs. In April, the entire colony sets out on a trip to Brazil to return here in September.

Penguins we got enough to see that day, even though many were still fishing. The young ones stood in groups and sunbathed. Fluff whirled through the air. From time to time we also saw a dead penguin who felt victim of a fox. Of course we made a detour to the board as well, which shows the beginning of «Ruta 40»! Then we returned – with an experience richer – on the arduous way back to Rio Gallegos.

Would like to see more? Have a look at our Clip.

19. Februar 2018

Cabo Virgenes: Anfang der „Ruta 40“ und Heimat der Pinguine

Thousends and thousends of them!

130 Kilometer von Rio Gallegos entfernt, am Cabo Virgenes liegt die zweitgrösste Pinguin-Kolonie Argentiniens. Dort gibt es – nebst einem Leuchtturm – unzählige Pinguine und ein Schild zu sehen, der auf den Beginn der berühmten „Cuarenta“ hinweist. Hier beginnt die 5’080 Kilometer lange Strasse, die in La Quiaca, an der bolivianischen Grenze, endet. Am 17.2.2018 machten wir uns auf den Weg zum Kap. Dieser Teil der „Cuarenta“ war der übelste, den wir gefahren sind. Es dauerte 3 Stunden bis wir am Ziel waren – doch die Anstrengung lohnte sich!

Nach der Brutzeit (jedes Paar hat maximal zwei Junge) sind es bis zu 300’000 (!) Magellan-Pinguine, die hier herumwatscheln. Im September kommen die Pinguin-Männchen als Erstes an. Im Oktober sind dann auch die Weibchen hier. Gemeinsam wird am Nest gebaut, das Jahr für Jahr wieder benutzt wird. Im November kommen die Jungen zur Welt – meistens überlebt nur eines, das andere wird Opfer von Skuas, Füchsen oder Möwen. Diese profitieren, wenn die Pinguine ihre Jungen ohne Aufsicht lassen. Oder sie stehlen das Ei bereits bevor es ausgebrütet ist. Im November und Dezember werden die Jungen unablässig gefüttert; im Februar verlieren sie ihren Flaum. Im März haben auch die erwachsenen Pinguine ihr Federkleid erneuert, was 20 Tage dauert, während denen sie ihre Jungen nicht füttern können. Im April dann macht sich die ganze Kolonie auf die Reise nach Brasilien, um im September wieder hierher zurückzukehren.

Pinguine bekamen wir an diesem Tag genügend zu sehen, auch wenn viele noch beim Fischen waren. Die jungen standen in Gruppen umher und sonnten sich. Flaum wirbelte durch die Luft. Hin und wieder bekamen wir auch einen toten Pinguin zu Gesicht, der Opfer eines Fuchses wurde. Pinguine hin, Pinguine her – wir machten natürlich auch einen Abstecher zur Tafel, die den Beginn der Ruta 40 anzeigt! Danach machten wir uns – um ein Erlebnis reicher – auf den mühsamen Rückweg nach Rio Gallegos.

Lust auf mehr? Schau dir unseren Video an.