15. October 2019

IN THE STEEN MOUNTAINS

Birds View from 3'000 Meters above Sea Level!

In the meantime, we have already seen some highlights in Oregon. Crater Lake was one of them. We were looking forward to what awaited us further southeast. That was the direction we would take if we wanted to go to Salt Lake City. And that was the plan.

The route took us through the Ochocco and Malheur Forest. For hours we drove through pine forests where Oregon pine grow straight and up to thirty meters into the sky. And then, all at once, the forest was over, giving way to the prairie that stretched to the horizon. It was as if we were looking at a yellow, rolling sea.

In Burns we made a short break, treated ourselves to a steak and drove then to The Narrows. There is a RV park, which offered us what we urgently needed: a shower and a washing machine. Both were available here. Freshly showered and dressed, we then explored the area, which is characterized by volcanoes and lava fields. In the most beautiful evening light, we drove back to The Narrows and spent a cold night there. (See post: cold, colder, ice cold)

Our destination the next morning was the Steen Mountains. A dirt road leads more than eighty miles through a fascinatingly beautiful landscape. It meanders past small lakes and streams and rises from 1,500 to almost 3,000 meters. Once again we got to see snow that day.

PS. The best came last when we came upon a herd of wild horses that were on their way to the waterhole. Almost like in Africa!

(Written in Salt Lake City, Utah)

17. Oktober 2019

IN DEN STEEN MOUNTAINS

Birds View

In Oregon haben wir in der Zwischenzeit bereits einige Highlights gesehen. Der Crater Lake war eines davon. Wir freuten uns auf das, was uns weiter südöstlich noch erwarten würde. Das war die Richtung, die wir einschlagen, wenn wir nach Salt Lake City wollen. Und das war der Plan.

Die Strecke führte uns durch den Ochocco- und Malheur-Forest. Während Stunden fuhren wir durch Kiefernwälder, in denen Oregon Pine kerzengerade und bis zu dreissig Meter hoch in den Himmel wachsen. Und dann, urplötzlich, war der Wald zu Ende und machte der Prärie Platz, die sich bis an den Horizont ausdehnte. Es war, als ob wir auf ein gelbes, wogendes Meer blickten.

In Burns machten wir einen kurzen Zwischenhalt, gönnten uns ein Steak und fuhren weiter südwärts. In The Narrows gibt es einen RV-Park, der uns das bot, was wir dringend brauchten: Eine Dusche und Waschmaschine. Frisch geduscht und gekleidet erkundeten wir danach die Gegend, die von Vulkanen und Lavafeldern gezeichnet ist. Im schönstem Abendlicht fuhren wir zurück zum Campingplatz und verbrachten dort eine kalte Nacht. (Siehe Post: Kalt, Kälter, Eiskalt)

Unser Ziel am nächsten Morgen waren die Steen Mountains. Eine Naturstrasse führt mehr als hundert Kilometer durch eine faszinierend schöne Landschaft. Sie schlängelt sich an kleinen Seen und Bächen vorbei und steigt von 1’500 auf fast 3’000 Meter. Einmal mehr bekamen wir an diesem Tag Schnee zu sehen.

PS: Das Beste folgte zum Schluss, als wir auf eine Herde Wildpferde stiessen, die auf dem Weg zur Wasserstelle waren. Fast wie in Afrika!

(Geschrieben in Salt Lake City, Utah)